top of page

Catalyst Arts: SEPHOUR 06


The Artists

SEPHOUR 06. My first experience in a group exhibition as a Sculpture Lens student, organised by myself and my peers, outside of the university.

Daunting, exciting, challenging and eye opening. As well as installing my own work I had the unexpected task of curating. A 'thrown in at the deep-end' moment but one I gladly took. Being passed the reigns of curator two weeks before the show was scary but I was very honoured to be considered for the job and jumped at the opportunity to see if I could pull off the task. Curator: a path I had never considered before this year but with countless lectures from established artists in the profession it had been appearing in the 'possible career paths' pile more and more (it's a small pile). This very much mind I took those reigns with both (slightly shaking) hands. I'm thankful for the support of a team, twenty strong, of artists who pulled their socks up and co-operated with each other as if they had done a hundred shows before together. Opening night went without much drama or major disasters aside from running out of beer but that is to be expected from our merry band of high functioning alcoholics and serial fun seekers.With a poignant crowd wandering performance as well as an interactive audience gathering guitar destroying sound piece thrown in to the mix it made for an emotional, conversation sparking, good vibes inducing evening. Thanks to all involved and all who came (beer hungry sons'a...) for a fantastic night and so many positive comments and constructive criticism (always welcome) . And to all who took photographs to record the art, the interactions and the beautiful souls!

(Some photos for your eye holes, photo credit Filly Campbell! Thanks bud!)

Much Love

Niamh

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page